Excreting my tiresome

I have recently been hired but not officially by Second Cup. When I went in for the interview the manager had told me that I would be receiving five training shifts, all of them being five hours. I have no problem with that, the part I am starting to have a problem for is the fact that she told me that I would not be paid for training and after the training she will decide whether I am worthy to be hired or not. So basically, I am working for free. I think this is illegal, I mean, I’m pretty certain that it IS illegal. If I was under 18, this would be child labour. And that’s not even the worst part, I could not even be officially hired. What kind of business is she running here? I really want to ask the other employees if they never got paid for training either, but I don’t want the word of me poking-my-nose-around getting out. That could possibly lower my chances of getting hire, and plus, she’s always there. So maybe, hopefully, after I am hired, I will ask the other employees if they were never paid for training either. I mean, this is pretty horrendous. But I have no other job at the moment, and I have been job hunting for a while. So for now, I am stuck. No other place has yet to give me a call, and hopefully when they do, I will leave. But then again, I don’t think I will because of all the hours I have given her for free.
So my first day of training was Friday 11, 2014. It was five hours as I have anticipated. I went through a lot of materials. Cash registry, grinding and measuring coffee bean, brewing coffee, and serving just the regular coffee and the baked goods. Oh, I have also learned how to make the more basic, simple drinks as well. As well as cleaning and taking out the trash. Learning the things is not what I am complaining about. I am complaining about not getting a break, and her not even offering me a drink after the shift. I mean, if you are going to take advantage of me for five hours, and twenty more hour to come, the least you can do is offer me a drink. Doesn’t have to be anything fancy, even just a regular brewed coffee. The worst thing is I don’t think the give that was working there when I got there got a break either. So, I guess you don’t get a break when working. I’m not sure if she got herself a drink or not, but I sure hope she did.
At first, I thought I would be okay with this, but now thinking back, I don’t think I am. But what can I do. I guess I’ll just do what I do best, just suck it up (haha, this can also be a dirty joke reference). I kind of feel guilty for writing a complain about this. Does this make me a backstabber for my new possible future part-time job? But I sure do hope that I get this job. Right now, I would settle for anything and anything would satisfy. Also, if I get this job, it would be so much easier for me to get a new job in the future at a cafe. All-in-all, I guess I was just really worn out after the first day. It’s been a while since I had a job after quitting my last one about a year ago.
Here’s to a new fresh start at the new job, I’ve got my fingers crossed and all.
Good luck to me!

Leave a Reply

