Posted in Daily Life, Uncategorized

Here I am

I am proud of myself and I am proud of where I am. Never in a million years have I thought that this is where I would be. I would have never known that life would bring me here.

Here, in my program, I am able to learn so much, to know so much and explore so much about the world we live in, the communities that exist and all the different perspectives. This unexpected choice, a turn in life, has brought me a gift that I didn’t know that I wanted. But I know now that this is it. I love it here. I love who I am becoming. I am loving knowing more about the people, communities, societies, cultures, genders, and everything else.

Sometimes reflecting back at how far I have come in the time I have spent here, I am amazed by the abilities of human beings. Even looking at all my friends, the friends I’ve known and the friends I’ve made, their transformation, although subtle, present and impactful. I have learned a lot from classes I have taken, but more so from the people I know and interact with. The things I learn stick with me and they are reflected in my everyday interaction with people I am close to and strangers that I interact with. More and more I am fighting the ideas that have been imbedded in me and forming my own, those with reason and my own perspective. Everything changes.

At time I get emotional, but I have accepted that as being a normal part of me. I no longer suppress everything as I used to. I am learning to be more open, expressive. I am still struggling and far from reaching my destination, but slowly, I’m moving up the ladder and moving up the seats. Getting a clearer view of where I am going, what I am doing, and what is happening.┬áRealizing that I was in the blind and choosing to be proactive. No longer settling, but choosing to see.

I am thankful for everything and everything. To be able to be where I am, it took me a lot of effort, and a lot of ups and downs, but it all makes me who I am. They allowed me to be the person I am today, the person I am beginning to foster and no longer just letting me. I take control, I am fighting. But this is not all without privilege. Although I am radicalized and a woman, I have the fortune of being able to attend university and having a mom and grandparents who are ever so supportive.

Author:

Searching | Taurus | Food

Leave a Reply

