Posted in Self-evaluation

33/365: Nerve

One of two things happen when I’m extremely nervous and excited.
My nerves get too worked up that I can’t even talk or I just get super confidently honest, even when it isn’t good to be so.

I hate impromptu phone interviews. Please e-mail me. Please give me time to prepare. Please give me a heads up. Please.
I’m not accustomed to this, and maybe I should. Maybe this is a good thing.

But you know what, I’ll give myself this. I did better than the last 3 or 4 times that I can remember.
God, I still remember the first time I had a impromptu phone interview.
It was for a part time position at some golf course, doing administrative work.
They called me and I was so so so nervous. I literally didn’t know what to say, nor did I know what I had to offer.
And I swear I said, “I’m just really taken aback right now” like TWICE.
Not once, but twice.
The interviewer probably thought, “wow, nope, not this girl.”
To be fair, I wouldn’t have hired me.

The second time I had the phone interview it was for YMCA, I think I applied for a part time student position? I’m not 100% sure.
But all I know is that I applied a while before they called for a phone interview. A too long while back to a point where when I saw my caller ID, I thought, “why the heck is YMCA calling me?”
Just to answer to my surprise that they wanted to interview me.
After that phone interview I swore to myself that if that happened again, I would say I was busy and for us to have the call again at a later time, just to give myself some time to prepare. Is that a better idea? Or does it give the impression that I’m not interest?
But that interview also went terribly.
I didn’t know what the position was for.
I didn’t know how my experiences related. My very lack of diverse experience.
I literally said during the interview “I’m sorry, I don’t remember what this job is about.” God. See what I mean when I say I get confidently honest?
I just bluntly say things like that.
Things like, “Nope, I have no clue.” Ugh.

The third time was a bit better, but I don’t think I got it because I wasn’t being specific enough and it was the middle of the nice (due to my time difference) and a part of me thought that I was trying too hard. I had almost a week to prepare and I was still nervous as heck. So nervous that I stuttered a couple times. A few times.

I just had another one today.
I had applied for a position at the place I volunteer for.
So naturally, I thought they were calling for volunteering, so I answered without hesitation.
But guess what. Nope. A brief phone interview to ask a few questions.
You know what though, I think I didn’t do too bad.
Surely it could have gone better, but it is what it is.
If I don’t hear back tomorrow or early next week, I’ll know it’s a pass, and in the mean time I’ll continue to apply to jobs and set up interviews.
One thing that I would review on though is me saying “no, I do not” to a question that was specifically related to the job.
She asked me if I had any experiences with scheduling and I blatantly said “no, I do not”…
She must have been impressed with the confidence in my answer.
Good bye potential in-person job interview.

Note to self: stay calm and just be polite, that’s what phone interviews are mainly about. To see how well you control yourself, your phone etiquette and how pleasant you are to speak to.

You are doing okay.

Author:

Searching | Taurus | Food

Leave a Reply

