Overruling Fate

Is there such thing as fate, or just like religion, do we believe it to find comfort?
Do we rely on it, simply because it helps us to get through the day?
Does it help us to rest easy knowing that even the bad things are a part of our fate and we just need to make the most out of it?
But is there really fate.
Are we the only writers to our own book or is there another influence? Is there a factor outside of us that co-write our book?

Do things happen because they’re meant to be?
Are things just coincidental or does our actions leading up to a certain point cause certain events to happen?
Or is there a force that conspires for certain things to happen in our life?
Like it’s already pre-written.

Sometimes I wonder what would have happened if my parents have made a different choice.
What would have happened if my parents decided to stay in Korea?
What would have happened if my parents decided to move to America instead?
What would have happened if my parents decided to buy a house in a different area?
Would I still be the same person?
Is the person that I am already written? Would I still have ended up the way I am today? How different would I have been or be?
Who would I have been.
What would my life be now?
What kind of people would be in my life?

I don’t have much to complain about, I am happy, or at least I am in an environment where I should be happy. No complaints, just complaints with myself.
But would I still be anxious?
Would I be more outgoing and meet more people?
Would I still feel depressed? Or would I be more depressed?
Am I the best version of me? Would all other choices have lead me to worse version of me?
Safe to say that I will never know.

I guess I just want to know if I will be okay.
I want to know if things are going to work out.

Recently, I read “The Alchemist” and the theme of interconnectedness really hit home for me. The idea that everything is written by the same hand. I guess I find comfort in it.
I find comfort in the idea that whoever is causing ills knows that it’s being written and has happened. It’s not unexpected. Whoever wrote it is fully aware and is fully aware of how I’m going to make it through, or how it’s going to help me get out of it. After all, it did put me there. But also, it could be testing me, my strength and abilities. But it surely would have prepared me for it, right?
“Every search begins with beginner’s luck. And every search ends with the victor’s being severely tested”
Surely, life wouldn’t put me through a test that I wasn’t prepared for
I just need to persevere
As long as I keep going

Keep gratitude in my steps and move forward.

Leave a Reply

